viking ski club
 
 

 

 

Buying the right equipment for your children is a good investment for two reasons: equipment retains its resale value and it’s an investment in a positive, healthy, and fun family activity. And remember, never, never buy equipment your child can “grow into.” Equipment must fit properly (especially boots) NOW so your child can enjoy skiing.

 

Equipment requirements

For Viking BRs and beginner Viking JRs

Waxless or waxable?

Waxable: In the Laurentian, most BRs will do better with waxable skis, which give better grip and glide when properly waxed.

Waxless: These skis  are durable, inexpensive and widely available and can be fine for many children. The pattern on the base helps on a climb but the resistance also means less speed and glide on the flat and downhill.

Viking JRs (levels 1 and 2) minimum requirements

• Combi skis  (see below)
• Waxable
• Poles; classic length (see below)
• 3-pin or SNS/NNN boot/binding system

Viking JRs (levels 3 and 4) minimum requirements

Skating technique is officially introduced into the skill progressions.

• Combi skis (see below)
• Waxable
• Poles; one pair at classic length that can also be used for skating is okay, but it’s better to have a second pair at skating length.
• SNS/NNN boot/binding system. No 3-pin 

Eventually parents may wish to buy two sets of equipment (skating and classic) if the child’s skills and future involvement in the sport warrant the investment.

 

Specific equipment advice

Bindings

• For young BRs a binding/ski system lets them use their regular winter boots can be fine if the system is  easy to use in the cold and not prone to involuntary release! Make sure the straps for this system are integrated into the binding construction as loose straps have a way of getting lost. Snow boots can be very warm, but if they’re not laced up firmly, little feet might come right out of the boots.
• Older BRs and young Viking JRs (levels 1 and 2) can use the simple 3-pin boot and binding system, although this is becoming less available. However, better quality, warmer and more durable boot/binding systems (Salomon or NNN) are available for children. Both systems are equally functional.
• For children who are participating in the Viking JR  (or levels 3 up) and beyond, select a boot/binding system (not 3-pin) that will not rub in the track when the ski is on edge or when skating technique is used.

Poles

Poles are often the most neglected piece of equipment. Many youngsters arrive at their first class with poles that are too short and in poor shape. Children 8 years and older or in the L2 and up will start to benefit from poles (and although BRs don’t need them, they might want some just to fit in!). Remember, if poles are too long or too short, the skier will have a tough time mastering the skills.

  • Length:

For Classic: poles should reach under the arm when the skier is standing on the floor.
For Skating: poles should come to the skier’s chin.

  • Straps must be adjustable and the material flexible (not plastic).
  • Tips must be metal; plastic tips are useless.

Skis

Skis have a number of features to consider, including type, length, camber, and base.  Below you will see some descriptions and suggestions.

Type

  • Classic Skis: skis used for the traditional cross country skiing motion on either track-set or non-tracked trails.
  • Skating Skis: used for the motion of skating on skis, requiring shorter and stiffer skis.
  • Combi Skis: have been designed to perform adequately for either skiing motion. This is the type of ski most commonly used by Viking JRs.

Length
For new BRs (4-5 yrs.) and beginner Viking JRs (6-7 yrs.), skis should be as tall as the child. Once the child has developed some skill and is comfortable with skis on his/her feet, you can get him/her skis of the right length.
For older skiers the length depends on the ski type:

  • Classic Skis: tip should reach just below the skier’s wrist when the arm is held straight above the head. The camber should be suitable for classic skiing.
  • Skating Skis: should be about 5 cm above the head, with the camber suitable for skate skiing.
  • Combi Skis: the length should be mid-way between the length for a classic ski and a skating ski, but the camber should be suitable for classic skiing.

Camber
Camber is the amount of flex a ski has along its length. Classic skis are much more flexible than skating skis. 
Generally, children’s skis have a soft camber as kids don’t have enough strength, weight or skill to realize the benefits of a properly cambered ski. When they reach the age of about 11 or 12  and their technique is solid, you can get them skis of the proper camber.  

Classic ski camber should be about 60% of the skier’s body weight. You can test for this by placing the skies parallel (about 8” apart) on a smooth, hard surface and have the skier stand on them at the approximate balance point. A letter-sized piece of paper should be able to move between the ski and floor at the balance point. Then have the skier stand on one leg (on the ball of the foot); now the paper should not move.

Skating ski camber should be close to 100% of the skier’s body weight. Many of the specialized ski shops in the Montreal region have a meter for testing camber.

Once you have selected a classic ski with the appropriate camber, you should have a store measure the wax pocket and mark its position on the sidewalls of the ski with a permanent marker. In general, if you take used skis – with clean bases – to a store, they will gladly measure the wax pocket to see if the ski is still right for the child. Make sure you mark the ski with the permanent marker at the time!

viking ski club
 
 

 

 

Acheter le bon équipement pour votre enfant est un investissement qui vaut la peine pour deux raisons : il retient sa valeur de revente et c’est un investissement dans une activité positive pour la famille qui est bonne pour la santé et amusante en plus. Il ne faut jamais acheter des équipements qui leur feront quand ils seront plus grands. Tout doit être de la bonne taille (surtout les bottes) MAINTENANT pour que votre enfant aime faire du ski.

Les exigences

Pour les Viking BRs et les Viking JRs débutants

Sans fart ou avec fart ?

Avec fart : Dans les Laurentides, la plupart des Viking BRs feront mieux avec des skis fartables, qui adhèrent et glissent mieux si bien fartés. (Voir Fartage.)

Sans fart : Ces skis sont durables, pas chers et très disponibles et peuvent servir à beaucoup d’enfants. Le motif sur la base aide à grimper mais réduit aussi la vitesse et la glissade au plat et sur les pentes.

Viking JRs (niveaux 1 et 2) exigences minimales
• Skis « combi » (voir ci-dessous)
• Fartable
• Bâtons – longueur classique (voir ci-dessous)
• Système de fixation 3-pointes ou SNS/NNN

Viking JRs (niveaux 3 et 4) exigences minimales

La technique de pas de patin est officiellement présentée dans les progressions de compétences.
• Skis « combi » (voir ci-dessous)
• Fartable
• Bâtons : une paire de longueur classique qui peut servir pour le pas de patin aussi, mais idéalement une seconde paire à la longueur de patinage.
• Système de fixation SNS/NNN. Pas de 3-pointes. 

Il est possible qu’à un certain point les parents veuillent acheter deux ensembles d’équipement (classique et patinage) si les compétences et l’implication de l’enfant le méritent.

 

Conseils d’équipement

Fixations

  • Pour les petits Viking BRs, un système de fixation qui leur permet de mettre leurs bottes régulières d’hiver peut servir si le système est facile à utiliser lorsqu’il fait froid et ne se dégage pas tout seul. Assurez-vous que les sangles sont intégrées à la fixation, puisque les sangles détachables ont tendance à se perdre. Les bottes d’hiver sont très chaudes, mais si elles ne sont pas bien lacées, les petits pieds peuvent sortir.
  • Les Viking BRs plus grands et les jeunes Viking JRs (niveaux 1 et 2) peuvent utiliser le système de fixation 3-pointes, bien que ce système soit de moins en moins disponible. De plus, les bottes plus chaudes et les fixations plus durables (Salomon ou NNN) sont disponibles pour les enfants. Les deux systèmes sont convenables.
  • Pour les enfants qui participent au programme Viking JR  3 et 4 ou plus haut, choisissez un système de fixation (pas de 3-pointes) qui ne frottera pas dans la trace lorsque le ski est sur le côté ou qu’on utilise la technique de patinage.

Bâtons
Les bâtons sont souvent l’article le plus négligé. Beaucoup de jeunes arrivent à leur première classe avec des bâtons trop courts et en mauvais état. À partir de 8 ans (N2) les enfants commencent à utiliser des bâtons (et bien que les Viking BRs n’en aient pas besoin, ils peuvent vouloir en avoir pour se sentir comme les grands !). Rappelez-vous que si les bâtons sont trop courts ou trop longs, le skieur aura de la difficulté à maîtriser les compétences.

  • Longueur :

Classique : les bâtons arrivent juste en dessous de l’aisselle lorsque le skieur est debout.
Patinage : les bâtons arrivent au menton.

  • Les dragonnes doivent être ajustables et faites de matière flexible (pas de plastique).
  • Les pointes doivent être faites de métal – des pointes en plastique sont inefficaces.

Skis
Il y a de nombreuses caractéristiques à considérer pour les skis : types, longueur, cambrure et rigidité, et base. Nous vous donnons ici quelques descriptions et suggestions.

Type

  • Skis classiques : Les skis utilisés pour le mouvement classique de ski de fond, sur des pistes tracées ou non tracées.
  • Skis de patin : Utilisés pour le mouvement du pas de patin, donc plus courts et plus rigides.
  • Skis « combi » : Conçus pour le mouvement classique ou le pas de patin. C’est le ski préféré par les Viking JRs.

Longueur
Pour les nouveaux Viking BRs (4-5 ans) et les Viking JRs débutants (6-7 ans), les skis devraient être de la taille de l’enfant. Après que l’enfant aura appris certaines compétences et sera confortables avec les skis, vous pouvez lui acheter des skis de la bonne taille.
Pour les skieurs plus âgés, la longueur dépend du type de ski :

  • Skis classiques : La pointe devrait arriver juste en dessous du poignet lorsque le bras est tenu droit au dessus de la tête. La cambrure convenable est celle pour le ski classique.
  • Skis de patin : La pointe devrait arriver 5 cm au dessus de la tête. La cambrure convenable est celle pour le ski de patin.
  • Skis « combi » : La longueur devrait être à mi-chemin entre les deux, mais la cambrure convenable est celle pour le ski classique.

Cambrure
La cambrure fait référence à la courbure de la partie centrale d'un ski, plus particulièrement à sa résistance à s'aplatir sous un poids. Les skis classiques sont beaucoup plus flexibles que les skis de patin. 
En générale, les skis pour enfants ont une cambrure plus molle, comme les enfants n’ont pas la force, le poids ni la compétence pour profiter d’un ski plus rigide. À l’âge de 11 ou 12 ans, lorsqu’ils ont maîtrisé leur technique, vous pouvez leur acheter des skis de la bonne cambrure.  

La cambrure d’un ski classique devrait être environs 60 % du poids du skieur. Vous pouvez le tester en mettant les skis parallèles (à une distance de 8 pouces) sur une surface lisse et dure, et en demandant au skieur de d’y monter dans une position d’équilibre. Une feuille de papier 8 ½ x 11 devrait pouvoir glisser entre le ski et le plancher au point d’équilibre. Lorsque le skieur se met sur une seule jambe (sur la plante du pied), le papier ne devrait plus bouger.

La cambrure d’un ski de patin devrait être presque 100% du poids du skieur. Plusieurs magasins de ski spécialisés à Montréal ont un compteur pour vérifier la cambrure.

Lorsque vous avez acheté un ski classique avec la cambrure qui convient, demandez au magasin de mesurer la pochette de fartage et de la marquer sur le côté du ski avec un marqueur permanent. En général, si vous apportez des skis d’occasion – avec des bases propres – à un magasin, ils marqueront la pochette de fartage pour vérifier si le ski sied à l’enfant. Rappelez-vous de marquer le ski avec un marqueur permanent.