viking ski club
 
 

 
cross country ski club
 
 
 

by John M. Nolan excerpt from the souvenir booklet for the 1985 Canadian Junior Championships

 

In 1929 a group of Norwegians who had emigrated to Canada joined together to form one of Canada's most enduring institutions in cross country skiing: the Viking Ski Club. The founding members were primarily ski jumpers, including Karl Baadsvick who was soon to become a Canadian national champion. In those days, local and even national skiing events were held in downtown Montreal.

Like the recent Canadian Championships, the `83 Shell Cup, the site of major skiing events was Mount Royal and the old wooden ski Jump on Cote des Neiges was used for the jumping and combined skiing events. The Viking Club was strong in both jumping and combined and dominated the local competition for many years.

The old Cote des Neiges ski jump was a popular spot for spectators as well as competitors. In fact, the three mountains on the island of Montreal, Mount Royal, Westmount, and Outremont served as a large winter playground for local skiers in the thirties. Here is how the president of the Montreal Ski Club described the local scene for the 1931 yearbook of the Canadian Ski Association:

Never before in the history of North America has such interest been shown in amateur winter sports as is now being shown at the approach of the 1932 Olympics. Lying as it does to close to Lake Placid, Montreal will undoubtedly see many of the competitors both before and after the games, when it is hoped they will avail themselves of the opportunity to sample our Canadian skiing.

From the point of view of position. Montreal is unique in being the only place on the continent where good skiing can actually be enjoyed in the heart of a great city. Mount Royal, Outremont, and Westmount, at the feet of which are clustered the homes of some million people have on their sides approximately four square miles of woods and parks. Rome has its seven hills, we have our three, and it is these that form the nucleus of Montreal Skiing.

 
cross country morin heights
 

The president filing this report was none other than the Viking Club's honorary member and the father of cross country skiing in North America, Herman "Jackrabbit" Smith-Johannsen. Jackrabbit, besides being an effective administrator was also a competitive skier. When the Club held its first Viking Veteran Ski Cup, Jackrabbit skied away with the first prize. The year was 1936 and the event was held in Shawbridge where the club had constructed a ski jump on the west side of the village. If you know where to look you can still make out the outline of what remains of the jump today.

 

But for some reason, perhaps as someone has suggested the problem was with the profile of the Shawbridge ski jump, the Vikings moved to Ste. Marguerite. They rented a ski lodge in the area and constructed a ski jump on a hill near the Alpine Inn. The new jump must have pleased them because they remained in the area until the Second World War. The war put a stop to the Club's activities for a few years. After the war the Club resumed activities in the Christieville area operating out of a rented cottage. Members were soon at work on the construction of yet another ski jump with the help of Club president Aleksander Olsen who was able to make a large contribution to its development.

 

It was around this time, the mid forties, when cross country skiing began to absorb the interest of the Viking skiers and they soon had a North American Champion among their ranks. He was a Swedish native who came to Canada when he was twenty one years old. His name was Jack Wahlberg, a powerful competitor who at 80 years of age today continues one of the longest winning streaks in the world of sports. For the past 65 years he has won an award every year in either running or cross country skiing.

Some of the highlights of Jack's remarkable career as an athlete include winning the 18km North American Championships race in New Hampshire in 1948 and representing Canada in the World Championships in 1950.

I have a love of outdoor activity he told writer Maureen Stern in a recent interview for the Gazette. "I like racing because you have light equipment, a mechanically prepared track, and you can use your poles properly...but I also like touring because you see tracks of animals. Jack Wahlberg's advice to the reporter was straight forward and sincere. He told her, "The older you get, the more important it is to keep active and out in the fresh air, and to watch your weight." They are not idle words. In 1982 Jack won the 15km race at the Canadian Masters Championships in the over 70 class.

He skis with such efficiency even seasoned skiers less than half his age have trouble keeping up with him. "I don't move like an old man and that's partly thanks to the exercise I do", says Jack, who skis about 1,500 km every winter and paddles around in his racing kayak in the summer.

 

Tour skiing became very popular with Vikings in the early fifties and you can still find come of the old trail markers in the woods. Ski jumping remained an important club activity and in 1953 the jump in Christieville was abandoned and a new jump was built near the Bellevue Hotel in Morin Heights. The Morin Heights Ski Club amalgamated with the Viking Ski Club and the members worked together to develop and maintain the Clover Leaf trail.

For many years the Clover Leaf trail was the Club's most important trail. Most of the Club's races and tours were held on this trail. It was also the original site of one of the Club's most enduring events, a 3x10km relay race. This year the Club will celebrate the twenty-fifth consecutive running of the Viking Annual Relay Races.

 

Toward the end of the 1950's the Club's involvement in ski jumping diminished until finally in the 61/62 season it was dropped as a Club activity. It didn't stop Ulf Kvendbo from successfully representing the club in ski jumping between 1965 and 1972. His successes included winning a Canadian Championships event and several international meets. Sam Stallard, Rolf Ellingsen and Robert Weiler purchased property in the Morin Heights area around this time and began cutting cross country ski trails. Gradually, the Club's activities were transferred from the Clover Leaf trails to these new trails on the Jackson Road.

 

The late Fifties was also the period when the Viking Ski Club began importing and selling cross country skiing equipment. The venture was started by Sam Stallard, Robert Weiler, and Gösta Edvardsson to fill the needs of members who found it difficult to purchase good equipment from Finland and Sweden and eventually began selling to the general public, The business grew each year until it became the Club's main source of income.

By 1963 the Club was sufficiently well off to purchase nine acres of land on the Jackson Road next to the existing cross country trails. The next year, the original A-Frame club house was started and by 1966 it was completed. As more and more sporting goods stores started to stock good cross country equipment the club no longer felt the need to continue importing it and sales were discontinued in 1964.

 

In 1968 under club president Robert Weiler a racing trail was laid out. It was a successful trail and two years later, with Jan Nordström at the head, the club organized the Canadian Cross Country and Nordic Championships on this trail. Viking's Irene Jensen won the Ladies 10 km event and Leo Lehtonen won the l5km and 30k veteran championships.

Over the years development has continued on the Viking Racing trails. The entire 10km network was expanded and bulldozed to accommodate double tracking. This work was done in anticipation of the 1983 Shell Cup and under the watchful eye of the then Racing Events director, Jan Eisenloeffel the Club can now boast the finest network of racing trails in the country.

 

To celebrate Canada's birthday in 1967 the Centennial Marathon Ski Tour was staged. It was a three day touring race from Pointe Claire to Ottawa. Four hundred skiers participated and the event was won by Viking's Günter Veeser. This event has become the Canadian Ski Marathon, a two day event on a 160 km trail between Lachute and Ottawa which attracts over 4,000 skiers from around the world.

Leo Lehtonen scored a string of victories in the CSM by winning in `68, `70, `71, and `72. Viking members have continued to dominate the event. In 1982 Vikings skied away with a total of 56 medals, 31 of which were Coureur de Bois awards. Viking's Bill Pollock was awarded his second Gold Bar but the Club's top performance came from a then 10-year old. Chris Blanchard became the youngest skier in Marathon history to ski the full 160km (100 mile) distance to earn his Coureur de Bois award.

 

Jan Hansen initiated the Club's most popular citizen's race in 1972, the Smith-Johannsen Loppet. Named in honour of Herman "Jackrabbit" Smith-Johannsen who has been the traditional starter of the race, it has consistently attracted the best citizen racers from Quebec and Ontario.

 

O>ne of the longest races in the world, the Laurentian Loppet, a 75km event, was started in 1979 under Jan Nordström. Aided by club president Malcolm Adams (1976-80) and Smith-Johannsen Loppet's race director, Judy Adams, Jan staged the longest one-day cross country race in Canada. It has since become an annual event (Viking Loppet), now shortened to 46km.

 

The most potent force in the Viking Ski Club's involvement in cross country racing has come from the initiative of past President, Skip Sheldon (1973-1976). Skip, a well-known and respected figure in cross country skiing across Canada, besides promoting racing locally, was also involved at the national level. He was Chairman of the Canadian Ski Association's Cross Country section for many years. In 1974 he took Bert Bullock, Sue Holloway and Ester Miller to France for the European Junior Championships. Skip Sheldon was responsible for starting the Junior Racing Program in the early seventies.

It was Skip who positioned the club squarely in the forefront of cross country racing. Under his leadership the Viking Club held its first Shell Cup race in 1976. In 1980 the World Masters Championship was held and in l983 the Shell Cup was organised but ultimately moved to Labrador City because of a lack of snow.


Viking presidents

When Viking resumed its activities after WWII, it gave itself a charter and an organization, with a board of directors and a president.

During the years Viking was based in Christieville, its presidents were:

            - Aleksander Olsen (1946 - 1948)
            - Kaare Olsen (1948 - 1950)
            - Jack Wahlberg (1950 - 1951)
            - Bjarne Kvendbo (1951 - 1954)

It was under the presidency of Bjarne Kvendbo that Viking moved its operations from Christieville to Morin-Heights when it built its ski jump near the Bellevue Hotel.  Those years saw the growth of ski touring as Viking Ski Club merged with the Morin-Heights Ski Club and started developing its ski trails.

The presidents for that period were:

            - Albert Basler (1954 - 1956)
            - Bjarne Kvendbo (1956 - 1959)
            - Per Gurholt (1959 - 1961)
            - Jack Wahlberg (1961 - 1964)

The early sixties saw Viking abandon ski jumping as club activity, buy land and build the present clubhouse.  The sale of skis was also abandoned as the industry was able to supply the market and Viking became what it still is, a ski club oriented towards cross-country skiing. 

The presidents since the mid-sixties have been:

            - Robert Weiler (1964 - 1967)
            - Jan Nordström (1967 - 1970)
            - Baird Davis (1970 - 1973)
            - Huntington Sheldon (1973 - 1976)
            - Malcolm Adams (1976 - 1980)
            - Steve Sewell (1980 - 1982)
            - Andrea Burgess (1982 - 1985)
            - The Directors (1985 - 1986)
            - Jacques Roux (1986 - 1988)
            - Peter Blanchard (1988 - 1989)
            - David Toole (1989 - 1990)
            - André Dionne (1990 - 1993)
            - Karen Oljemark (1993 - 1994)
            - Michael Dohrendorf (1994 - 1997)
            - Lou Lukanovich (1997 - 2000)
            - Erik Vikander (2000 - 2006)
            - The Directors (2006 - 2007)
            - Doug Bowes-Lyon (2007 - 2011)
            - Gordon Cohen (2011 - 2012)
            - Richard L'Heureux (2012 - 2015)
            - Grant McKenna (2015 - )

viking ski club
 
 

 
cross country ski club
 
 
 

texte de John M. Nolan (traduit par Richard Labonville),
extrait du livre des souvenirs du Canadian Junior Championship de 1985.

 

En 1929 un groupe de Norvégiens émigrés au Canada a formé l'un des clubs de ski de fond les plus vieux du Canada: le Club de ski Viking. Les membres fondateurs pratiquaient principalement le saut à ski, y compris Karl Baadsvik qui devait bientôt devenir un champion national canadien. En ces années, les événements locaux et même nationaux de ski étaient tenus au centre ville de Montréal.

Comme les récents championnats canadiens, la Coupe Shell de 1983, les principaux événements de ski était tenus sur le Mont Royal et le tremplin de ski situé sur la Côte des Neiges était utilisé pour les épreuves de saut à ski et de combiné nordique. Le club Viking était fort aussi bien dans les compétitions de saut à ski que dans les compétitions de ski combiné et a dominé la compétition pendant nombre d'années.

Le tremplin de ski de la Côte des Neiges était un endroit populaire autant pour les spectateurs que pour les concurrents. En fait, les trois montagnes sur l'île de Montréal, Mont Royal, Westmount, et Outremont ont servi de terrain de jeu l'hiver aux skieurs locaux dans les années 30. Voici comment le président du Club de ski de Montréal décrivait la scène locale dans l'annuaire 1931 de l'Association Canadienne de Ski:

Jamais auparavant dans l'histoire de l'Amérique du Nord un tel intérêt n'avait été constaté pour les sports amateurs d'hiver comme celui qui est montré maintenant à l'approche des Jeux Olympiques de 1932. Étant à proximité de Lake Placid, Montréal verra assurément plusieurs des concurrents, avant ou après les jeux on l'espère, se rendre compte ici de la qualité du ski canadien.

Grâce à sa position stratégique, Montréal est unique, étant le seul endroit sur le continent où du bon ski peut être pratiqué au cœur d'une grande ville. Au pied des villes de Mont-Royal, Outremont, et de Westmount, sont situées les résidences d'environ un million de personnes entourées d'approximativement quatre mille carrés de bois et de parcs. Rome a ses sept collines, nous en avons trois, et ce sont elles qui forment le noyau du ski de Montréal.

 
cross country morin heights
 

Le président qui émet ces commentaires, n'était nul autre que le membre honoraire du Club Viking et le père ski de fond en Amérique du Nord, Herman "Jackrabbit" Smith-Johannsen. En plus d'être un administrateur efficace, Jackrabbit était également un skieur compétitif. Quand le club a tenu sa première Veteran Ski Cup, Jackrabbit a remporté de loin le premier prix. C'était en 1936 et l'événement a été tenu à Shawbridge où le club avait construit un saut de ski du côté ouest du village. Si vous savez où poser votre regard, vous pouvez encore apercevoir aujourd'hui l'endroit où il existe des vestiges de ce saut.

 

Mais pour une raison ou une autre, peut-être comme suggéré par quelqu'un que le problème ait été le profil du saut de ski de Shawbridge, le Club Viking s'est déplacé à Ste.Marguerite. Le club a loué un chalet de ski dans le secteur et a construit un saut de ski sur une colline près de l'auberge Alpine Inn. Les membres du club devaient en être satisfaits car ils sont restés dans le secteur jusqu'à la deuxième guerre mondiale. La guerre a mis un terme aux activités du club pendant quelques années. Après la guerre, le club a repris ses activités dans la région de Christieville en fonctionnant à partir d'une petite maison louée. Les membres étaient bientôt au travail pour la construction d'un autre saut de ski avec l'aide du Président du Club Aleksander Olsen qui a apporté une grande contribution à son développement.

 

C'était au milieu des années 40 que le ski de fond a commencé à intéresser les membres du club Viking qui ont bientôt compté dans leurs rangs un champion nord-américain. Natif de la Suède, il est venu au Canada à l'âge de vingt un ans. Son nom était Jack Wahlberg, un puissant concurrent qui à 80 ans continue encore aujourd'hui une des plus longue série de victoires dans l'histoire des sports. Pendant les 65 dernières années il a gagné un prix, à chaque année, soit en courant ou en ski de fond.

Certains des points culminants de la carrière remarquable de Jack en tant qu'athlète incluent la victoire du 18km aux championnats nord-américains de course tenu au New Hampshire en 1948 et en représentant le Canada dans les championnats du monde en 1950.

"J'aime les activités en plein air" a-t-il dit au journaliste Maureen Stern dans une entrevue récente pour la Gazette. "J'aime les courses parce que vous avez de l'équipement léger, une piste mécaniquement aménagée, et vous pouvez employer vos bâtons correctement...mais j'aime également faire du ski d'excursion parce que vous pouvez apercevoir des traces d'animaux". Le conseil que Jack Wahlberg a fait au journaliste était d'être direct et sincère. Il lui a dit: "Plus vous devenez âgé, plus il est important de se maintenir actif à l'extérieur à l'air frais, et de surveiller son poids."Ce n'était pas des mots lancés en l'air. En 1982, Jack a gagné la course de 15km au Canadian Masters Championship dans la catégorie des plus de 70 ans.

Il skie avec une telle efficacité que même des skieurs ayant moins de la moitié de son âge ont de la difficulté à le suivre. "Je ne me déplace pas comme un vieil homme et c'est en partie grâce à l'exercice que je fait", dit Jack, qui skie environ 1500 kilomètres chaque hiver et pagaie dans les environs en été dans son kayak.

 

Le ski d'excursion est devenu très populaire avec la présence du Club Viking au début des années 50 et vous pouvez encore trouver quelques vieux marqueurs de sentiers dans les bois. Le saut à ski est demeuré une activité importante du Club et en 1953 le saut à Christieville a été abandonné pour un nouveau érigé près de l'Hôtel Bellevue à Morin Heights. Le Club de ski de Morin Heights et le Club de ski Viking ont regroupé leurs effectifs et les membres ont travaillé ensemble pour développer et maintenir le sentier Clover Leaf.

Pendant nombre d'années le sentier Clover Leaf était le sentier le plus important du club. La plupart des courses et des excursions du club ont été tenues sur ce sentier. C'était également l'emplacement original d'un des événements les plus exigeants du club, une course à relais de 3x10km. Cette année le club célébrera le vingt-cinquième anniversaire consécutif de fonctionnement des courses annuelles à relais de Viking.

 

Vers la fin des années 50, le saut à ski diminua comme activité du Club jusqu'à ce qu'il soit abandonné à la saison 61/62. Cela n'a pas empêché Ulf Kvendbo de représenter avec succès le Club dans le saut à ski entre 1965 et 1972. Ses succès lui ont permis de gagner une compétition des Championnats canadiens et plusieurs événements internationaux. A cette époque, Sam Stallard, Rolf Ellingsen et Robert Weiler ont acheté la propriété dans la région de Morin Heights et ont commencé à défricher des sentiers pour la pratique du ski de fond. Graduellement, les activités du club ont été transférées des sentiers Clover Leaf vers ces nouveaux sentiers près du chemin Jackson.

 

La fin des années 50 était également la période où le Club de ski de Viking a commencé à importer et à vendre des équipements de ski de fond. L'entreprise a été lancée par Sam Stallard, Robert Weiler et Gösta Edvardsson pour satisfaire aux besoins des membres qui avaient de la difficulté à trouver de bons équipements de Finlande et de Suède. Puis le Club a commencé à vendre au grand public et les affaires se sont développées tous les ans jusqu'à ce que la vente d'équipement de ski devienne sa principale source de revenu.

En 1963 les affaires club allaient suffisamment bien pour acheter neuf acres de terre sur le chemin Jackson à côté des sentiers de ski de fond existants. L'année suivante, la construction du chalet avec sa forme originale en A a commencé et fut complétée en 1966. Au fur et à mesure que des magasins de sports commencèrent à offrir des équipements de ski de fond de qualité, le club n'a plus senti la nécessité de continuer à en importer et met fin à la vente de skis en 1964.

 

En 1968, sous la présidence Robert Weiler, un sentier de compétition fut aménagé. Ce fut un succès car deux ans après sa création, avec Jan Nordström à sa tête, le club organisa les Championnats canadiens de ski de fond sur ce sentier. Irene Jensen du Club Viking a gagné le 10 kilomètres dans la catégorie dames et Leo Lehtonen a gagné les l5km et 30km dans la catégorie vétéran.

Au cours des années suivantes, le développement des sentiers de compétition s'est poursuivi. Le réseau entier de 10km a été étendu et nivelé pour s'adapter au traçage double. Ce travail a été effectué en prévision de la Coupe Shell de 1983 et, sous l'oeil attentif du directeur des compétitions de l'époque Jan Eisenloeffel, le club peut maintenant revendiquer le titre du réseau le mieux aménagé pour la tenue de compétitions de ski de fond.

 

L'année 1967 voit l'institution du Marathon de ski du Centenaire, créé pour célébrer le centenaire de la confédération canadienne. C'était une excursion de trois jours de Pointe Claire à Ottawa. Quatre cents skieurs ont participé à cette épreuve qui a été remportée par Gunter Vesser du club Viking. Cet événement est devenu plus tard le Marathon canadien de ski, un événement de deux jours sur un sentier de 160 kilomètres entre Lachute et Ottawa qui attire plus de 4000 skieurs de partout dans le monde.

C'est un membre du Club Viking, Leo Lehtonen, qui remporte la victoire en 68, 70, 71 et 72. Les membres du Club Viking continuent de dominer l'événement au cours des années suivantes. En 1982, les membres du Club ont remporté un total de 56 médailles, dont 31 étaient des prix Coureur de Bois. Le Viking Bill Pollock a alors remporté son second prix Gold Bar mais la meilleure performance est venue d'un jeune skieur âgé de seulement 10 ans. Chris Blanchard est devenu le plus jeune skieur dans l'histoire du Marathon à skier la pleine longueur du parcours de 160km (100 milles) pour gagner son prix de Coureur des Bois.

 

Jan Hansen a inauguré en 1972, la course la plus populaire du club: la Smith-Johannsen Loppet. Appelée ainsi en l'honneur de Herman "Jackrabbit" Smith-Johannsen qui traditionnellement en donnait le départ officiel, elle a attiré les meilleurs fondeurs du Québec et de l'Ontario.

 

En 1979, Jan Nordström créée le Loppet de ski Trans-Laurentien, avec l'aide du Président Malcolm Adams (1976-80) et la directrice de la course Smith-Johannsen. Son parcours de 75 km fait du Loppet Trans-Laurentien la plus longue course de ski de fond d'une journée au Canada. Cette course est depuis devenue un événement annuel, la Viking Loppet, maintenant ramenée à 46km.

 

L'implication majeure du Club de ski Viking dans le développement des compétitions de ski de fond est due à l'initiative du président Skip Seldon (1973-1978). Figure bien connue et respectée dans le ski de fond au Canada, sans compter ses efforts pour la promotion de courses locales, Skip était également impliqué au niveau national. Il était président de la section du ski de fond de l'Association canadienne de ski pendant plusieurs années. En 1974 il a envoyé Bert Bullock, Sue Holloway et Ester Miller en France pour les championnats juniors européens. Skip Sheldon était le responsable du lancement du programme de compétition junior dans les années 70.

C'est Skip qui a carrément placé le Club à la tête des compétitions de ski de fond. Sous sa présidence, le Club Viking a tenu sa première Coupe Shell en 1976 (tenue à Labrador City depuis 1983) puis le World Masters Championship en 1980.


Les présidents du Club Viking

À la fin de la 2ième guerre mondiale, le Club de ski Viking reprit ses activités et se donna une charte ainsi qu’un conseil d’administration dirigé par un président.

            - Aleksander Olsen (1946 - 1948)
            - Kaare Olsen (1948 - 1950)
            - Jack Wahlberg (1950 - 1951)
            - Bjarne Kvendbo (1951 - 1954)

C’est sous la présidence de Bjarne Kvendbo que le Club Viking déménagea de Christieville à Morin-Heights où il construisit un tremplin de saut à ski près de l’hôtel Bellevue.  Ces années virent aussi la croissance du ski de fond, alors que Viking fusionnait avec le Club de ski de Morin-Heights et développait son propre réseau de pistes de ski.

Les présidents durant cette période furent:

            - Albert Basler (1954 - 1956)
            - Bjarne Kvendbo (1956 - 1959)
            - Per Gurholt (1959 - 1961)
            - Jack Wahlberg (1961 - 1964)

Le début des années soixante vît le Club Viking abandonner le saut à ski comme activité, acheter un terrain et construire le présent chalet.  Comme l’industrie du ski arrivait à satisfaire la demande en équipement de ski de fond, le Club de ski Viking laissa aussi tomber la vente d’équipement de ski et devint ce qu’il est toujours depuis, une organisation tournée vers le ski de fond.

Depuis le milieu des années soixante, les présidents du Club de ski Viking ont été:

            - Robert Weiler (1964 - 1967)
            - Jan Nordström (1967 - 1970)
            - Baird Davis (1970 - 1973)
            - Huntington Sheldon (1973 - 1976)
            - Malcolm Adams (1976 - 1980)
            - Steve Sewell (1980 - 1982)
            - Andrea Burgess (1982 - 1985)
            - The Directors (1985 - 1986)
            - Jacques Roux (1986 - 1988)
            - Peter Blanchard (1988 - 1989)
            - David Toole (1989 - 1990)
            - André Dionne (1990 - 1993)
            - Karen Oljemark (1993 - 1994)
            - Michael Dohrendorf (1994 - 1997)
            - Lou Lukanovich (1997 - 2000)
            - Erik Vikander (2000 - 2006)
            - The Directors (2006 - 2007)
            - Doug Bowes-Lyon (2007 - 2011)
            - Gordon Cohen (2011 - 2012)
            - Richard L'Heureux (2012 - 2015)
            - Grant McKenna (2015 - )