viking ski club
 
 

Karl Baadsvik Fund

Karl Baadsvik (1910-1995) was one of the founding members of the Viking Ski Club. In the 1930s, he earned renown by winning several ski competitions, in alpine, jumping and cross-country. At the time, skiers often aspired to shine in all of the sport’s disciplines. In 1933 and 34, Karl Baadsvik won the Dominion Championship Combined, Canada’s highest skiing distinction.  In 1935, he took the Quebec Kandahar Cup, a difficult descent held on Mt. Tremblant.

His successes earned him a spot on the Canadian Olympic team for 1936, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. There, he took part in the alpine combined, cross-country, nordic combined and ski jumping. Still today he is a model for club members young and old, so to keep the memory of this great skier alive, the Viking Ski Club has created the Karl Baadsvik Fund.

Every year, club members and non-members make donations to the club. The creation of the Karl Baadsvik Fund will structure this practice and increase its impact.  From now on, donations to the Viking Ski Club, other than those earmarked for a specific purpose, will be channelled into the Karl Baadsvik Fund to finance initiatives that contribute to the development and expansion of the club (preservation of the trail network, building improvements, acquisition of trail maintenance equipment, etc.).  Contributions to the Fund will be recorded in a separate account and their use will be subject to Board approval.

Members and non-members are encouraged to contribute to the Karl Baadsvik Fund by cheque, with a note indicating that the payment is for the Karl Baadsvik Fund.

viking ski club
 
 

Fonds Karl Baadsvik

Karl Baadsvik (1910-1995) fut l’un des membres fondateurs du Club de ski Viking.  Durant les années trente, il s’est illustré en remportant plusieurs compétitions de ski,  tant dans le ski alpin, le saut à ski que dans le ski de fond car à cette époque, les skieurs aspiraient à briller dans toutes les disciplines de leur sport.  En 1933 et 1934, Karl Baadsvik remporta le championnat canadien du combiné, la plus haute distinction dans le domaine du ski au Canada.  En 1935, il remporta la difficile épreuve de descente du Québec – Kandahar, tenue à Mont-Tremblant.

Ses succès lui valurent d’être sélectionné pour faire partie de l’équipe canadienne aux Jeux olympiques de 1936, à Garmisch-Partenkirchen.   Karl Baadsvik y a participé aux épreuves de combiné alpin, de ski de fond, de combiné nordique et de saut à ski.  Aujourd’hui encore, il demeure un modèle pour les membres du club, jeunes et moins jeunes et c’est pour garder bien vivant le souvenir de ce grand skieur que le Club de ski Viking a créé le Fonds Karl Baadsvik.

Chaque année, des membres du club et du public en général font des dons au Club.  La création du Fonds Karl Baadsvik permettra d’encadrer cette pratique et de lui donner plus d’impact.  Dorénavant, les dons au Club de ski Viking, à l’exception de ceux dédiés à une fin bien précise, seront versés au Fonds Karl Baadsvik.  Ce fonds servira à financer toute initiative pouvant contribuer au développement et au rayonnement du Club de ski Viking (préservation du réseau de sentiers de ski, amélioration des bâtiments, acquisition d’équipement d’entretien des sentiers, etc..).  Les contributions au Fonds seront comptabilisées dans un compte distinct et leur utilisation soumise à l’approbation du  conseil d’administration du Club.

Les membres et non-membres sont invités à contribuer au Fonds Karl Baadsvik par un chèque au nom  du Club de ski Viking en indiquant que le paiement est pour le Fonds Karl Baadsvik.