viking ski club
 
 

 

A challenging and exciting sport

Biathlon is an exciting sport that challenges participants with a diverse range of skills that no other sport requires: the endurance, speed, strength and coordination needed for cross-country skiing and the concentration, focus, accuracy and split-second timing needed for accurate and fast target shooting under pressure. Biathlon also teaches people how to use rifles in a safe and non-confrontational manner, a point that is strongly emphasized in the sport. What’s more, biathlon is a lot of fun!

The word biathlon is of Greek origin and means "two tests". The combination of skiing and shooting used in the sport today is founded on a tradition of hunting stemming back over 4,000 years. The first recorded biathlon race was organized in Scandinavia in 1767, but regular competitions were not held until the early 20th century. Biathlon was first contested in the Olympic Winter Games in Chamonix, France, in 1924 and has been a permanent fixture in the Olympics since 1960.

Today, biathlon events combine the two opposing disciplines of freestyle cross-country ski technique with precision target shooting using .22-calibre rifles at a 50 m range. Participants ski a designated loop and then ski into the range to fire five shots at five targets in either a standing or prone (lying down) position. For every shot missed the participant is penalized. Depending on the type of race, the penalty is either added skiing distance in the form of a 150 m penalty loop or having an extra minute added to the time. The participant then skis and shoots again, repeating this sequence until the required number of ski legs and shooting bouts are completed. Athletes compete over distances ranging from 2.5 km for our youngest competitors to 20 km for the men.

In addition to the Winter Olympics, there is an annual World Cup series in biathlon with events being held primarily in Europe where the sport enjoys massive appeal and extensive television coverage. There is also a Biathlon World Championships held every winter except for Olympic years. The combination of skills and the nature of the event make biathlon an extremely exciting sport to watch. For these reasons, biathlon is one of the most widely watched winter sports in Europe.

viking ski club
 
 

 

À propos du biathlon

Un défi stimulant et excitant

Le biathlon est un sport passionnant qui demande aux participants une gamme de compétences différente de tous les autres sports : l’endurance, la vitesse, la force et la coordination requises pour le ski de fond, ainsi que la concentration et la précision à la seconde près requises pour le tir à la cible sous pression. Les participants apprennent aussi à manipuler les carabines de façon sûre et non-agressive, un point qui est très priorisé dans le sport. De plus, le biathlon est très amusant!

Le mot biathlon est d'origine grecque et signifie « deux épreuves ». La combinaison de ski de fond et de tir que l'on retrouve aujourd'hui dans ce sport provient d'une tradition de chasse qui remonte à plus de quatre mille ans. La première course de biathlon homologuée fut organisée en Scandinave en 1767. Cependant, il aura fallu attendre au début du XXe siècle pour voir la tenue de compétitions régulières. Ce sport a figuré au programme des Jeux olympiques à partir des premiers Jeux d'hiver en 1924, à Chamonix (France) et figure au programme des Jeux depuis 1960.

Aujourd’hui les événements de biathlon associent les disciplines opposées de ski de fond style libre et le tir à la cible, avec des carabines .22 à une distance de 50 m. Les participants traversent une boucle désignée et ensuite se rendent au champ de tir pour tirer cinq coups à cinq cibles, d’une position debout ou couchée. Pour chaque coup raté, le participant est pénalisé. Selon le genre de course, la pénalité prend la forme d’une boucle supplémentaire de 150 m à traverser ou l’ajout d’une minute au temps. Ensuite le participant répète le cycle ski/tir jusqu’à ce que le bon nombre de répétitions soit complété. Les athlètes concourent sur des distances de 2,5 km pour les plus jeunes à 20 km pour les hommes.

En plus des Olympiques d’hiver, il y a une Coupe Mondiale de biathlon, avec des événements surtout en Europe, où le sport profite d’un attrait considérable et d’une couverture télévisée de grande envergure. Il y a également des Championnats mondiaux du biathlon chaque hiver sauf les années olympiques. La combinaison des compétences requises et le caractère de l’événement rend le biathlon un sport très passionnant à suivre. Pour cette raison, le biathlon est un des sports d’hiver les plus regardés en Europe.