viking ski club
 
 

 

Snowshoe Trails Update: Jan. 24, 2012

Changes were made to the Small Alpino Snowshoe Trail in response to unfavourable feedback about using the Alpine ski trail for the first leg of this loop. Morin–Heights made it clear that they wished to retain the Alpino Trail for skiing only. 

Consequently, an intrepid group of 6 trail-blazers set out on a beautiful Saturday morning to establish a new route for the first leg of this trail. Chris Teron, equipped with GPS and Iphone, mapped the new trail, while others marked it with the distinctive yellow-pink ribbons.

That afternoon, the trail was open for business and received enthusiastic feedback from users.

As before, the trail starts across Jackson road from the east end of the parking lot. It runs parallel to the ski trail down to the creek. Once you cross the creek, the snowshoe trail turns right for a short stretch of two-way traffic, and then splits off to the left (east) above the ski trail. Eventually it meets up with the survey line, and the trail back to the clubhouse, as established last year. 

Isabel Siguin reported that the trails on her land, north of the clubhouse, are in good shape and open for business.

Trail markers are being prepared. As soon as they are ready, they will be installed on all of the snowshoe trails together with the distinctive ribbons.

If you are interested in helping to maintain and expand the snowshoe trails, contact crotogino@sympatico.ca .

viking ski club
 
 

 

Sentiers de raquette, mise à jour du 24 janvier 2012

Des modifications ont été apportées à la première section du petit sentier Alpino suite aux critiques concernant l'utilisation du sentier de ski Alpino. En effet, Morin-Heights a insisté pour que le sentier Alpino soit réservé uniquement aux skieurs.

Par conséquent, un groupe de six intrépides ouvreurs de pistes sont partis samedi matin à l'assaut d'un nouveau tracé pour la première section du sentier. Chris Teron muni de son GPS et de son Iphone a cartographié le nouveau sentier pendant que d'autres l'ont marqué de rubans jaunes distinctifs.

Le sentier a été ouvert dans l'après-midi et a été reçu avec enthousiasme par les usagers.

Comme auparavant, le sentier débute au chemin Jackson à l'est du stationnement. Il continue en parallèle au sentier de ski en descendant la pente jusqu'au ruisseau. Le sentier tourne à droite après le ruisseau en suivant brièvement  le sentier de ski et bifurque vers la gauche (vers l'est) au-dessus du sentier de ski. Il rejoint la ligne de lot et le sentier de retour vers le chalet tel que tracé l'an dernier.

Isabel Sigouin nous a informé que le sentier qui passe sur son terrain, au nord du chalet, est en bon état et est ouvert aux raquetteurs.

On est à préparer des marqueurs. Quand ils seront prêt, ils seront installés sur tous les sentiers de raquette ainsi que des rubans jaunes distinctifs.

Si vous désirez aider à l'entretien et à l'expansion du réseau de sentiers de raquette, veuillez contacter crotogino@sympatico.ca .