viking ski club
 
 

 

Skip Sheldon

The Viking Board of Directors is sad to announce the death of Dr. Huntington (Skip) Sheldon III on December 29, 2017, aged 87. Skip was a major benefactor of McGill (Sheldon Biotechnology Centre) and Johns Hopkins (emeritus trustee) universities. To read a comprehensive obituary:    http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/burlingtonfreepress/obituary.aspx?page=lifestory&pid=187773268 

While he was president of Viking (1973-76), he drove our racing activities. He was also chairman of the Canadian Ski Association's Cross-Country Committee. Events such as a World Masters Cross-Country championship and a World Biathalon championship were held at Viking under his leadership. On a local level, he sponsored many young skiers, including the Carruthers brothers, to provincial, national and international events.

Skip was the owner of several hundred acres of land south of Jackson Road where most of our racing trails are located. It was his wish for more than 20 years to protect this land from commercial and residential development. The land was transferred on December 21, 2017, to the Ste-Adèle land trust. Eventually, the municipality of Morin-Heights will become a part owner of the northern section, and this will be added to its parkland. Viking, represented by our president Grant McKenna, was a signatory to this agreement. The Nature Conservancy of Canada contributed its vast knowledge and considerable costs. Viking will have a permanent servitude which will ensure access to the trails, Skip's Hut, and our biathlon installations. The continuation of our cross-county skiing, biathlon, orienteering and related activities is now permanently assured.

The southern half of the land will be designated as a nature reserve, and Viking will erect a suitable permanent sign on Jackson Road thanking the Sheldon family. Our board of directors will also commemorate Skip's passing by naming an important trail in his honour, or something similar.

I would like to acknowledge the significant contributions made by our president Grant McKenna in negotiating this agreement in Viking's interest. Thanks also to our immediate past president Richard L'Heureux for his work on the file.

Gordon Cohen
Director

viking ski club
 
 

 

Skip Sheldon

Le conseil d’administration du Club de ski Viking a le regret de vous annoncer le décès d’Huntington (Skip) Sheldon III, le 29 décembre 2017, à l’âge 87 ans. Skip était un important mécène des Universités McGill (Centre Sheldon de biotechnologie) et Johns Hopkins (membre du conseil d’administration émérite). Pour un article nécrologique complet, consultez le http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/burlingtonfreepress/obituary.aspx?page=lifestory&pid=187773268 

Alors qu’il était président du club (1973-1976), Skip a dirigé les activités de course. Il a également été président du comité de ski de fond de l’Association canadienne de ski. Sous sa houlette, le club a accueilli différentes compétitions importantes, dont un championnat du monde des maîtres en ski de fond et un championnat du monde de biathlon. À l’échelle locale, Skip a soutenu la participation de nombreux jeunes skieurs, dont les frères Carruthers, à des compétitions provinciales, nationales et internationales.

Skip était propriétaire de plusieurs centaines d’acres de terrain au sud du chemin Jackson, où se trouvent la plupart des sentiers de course du club. Son souhait, pendant plus de vingt ans, était de protéger ces terres du développement commercial et résidentiel. Le 21 décembre 2017, ces terrains étaient transférés à la Société de protection foncière de Sainte-Adèle. La municipalité de Morin-Heights deviendra, à terme, copropriétaire de la partie nord des terrains, qui viendra s’ajouter à son réseau de parcs. Le Club de ski Viking, représenté par son président, Grant McKenna, est un des signataires de cette entente. Conservation de la nature Canada y a contribué de vastes connaissances ainsi que des fonds considérables. Le Club Viking détiendra une servitude permanente qui lui assurera l’accès à ses sentiers, à Skip’s Hut et à ses installations de biathlon. Le maintien des activités de ski de fond, de biathlon, de course d’orientation et autres activités connexes du club est donc maintenant assuré.

La moitié sud des terrains sera désignée réserve naturelle, et le club érigera une affiche permanente le long du chemin Jackson remerciant la famille Sheldon. Le conseil d’administration du club commémorera également la vie de Skip en conférant son nom à un sentier important ou d’une autre manière semblable.

J’aimerais souligner les efforts considérables déployés par notre président, Grant McKenna, dans la négociation de cette entente dans l’intérêt du club. Je tiens également à remercier Richard L’Heureux, ex-président du club, pour son travail dans ce dossier.

Gordon Cohen
Directeur